A Scientist Moves On

Why Haven't They Done That Yet?

A Personal Aside

I received some great news today that officially marks my exit from academics. I was offered and accepted job as a para-educator working with children at a range of ages with autism at a local elementary school. This definitely will not be a glamorous job, but I feel like it is an amazing opportunity for me. Needless to say I am ecstatic!

Over the last few years, I have been thinking a lot about what precisely I was doing as a scientist. In fact, I specifically blogged this question last year in reference to my late brother and how his influence has shaped my life choices.

To plagiarize myself for a moment, I ended that post with a question that I can finally answer…

Honestly, it has been some time since I have actually seen a true basic science paper studying autism. Basic characterizations are spun as…

View original post 791 more words

Leave a Reply

